IFG Poll 86: (Some of) The Best Films of the Decade – 2010s

This last ten weeks we have been looking at our favourite films from each year, so now we need to vote on the best of the best!  Each of the following films got at least four votes in the last ten polls (number of votes indicated).  Please vote for your TOP FIVE in the poll.

 

 

REMINDERS:

By the 31st May 2020 please send your rating for: Coming Soon: IFG 12: Blinded by the Light (Gurinder Chadha, 2019)

Why not share some hidden treasures with the other participants?  Details here: Coming Soon: Forgotten Gems

Vote for one of the September films here: IFG 17 Film Selection (Poll 3)

There is now a clue for the final unsolved puzzle: Puzzle Time

Nomination Time: Time to consider who you would have awarded the Oscars to for films in 2019.  Send up to ten nominations for each of the following categories:  Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Director, Best Film in the English Language and Best Film in a Foreign Language.  More details to follow, but additional information can be found here: IFG Awards Discussion Board

23 thoughts on “IFG Poll 86: (Some of) The Best Films of the Decade – 2010s

  1. A poll where (obviously) its tough to limit your votes: Skyfall, Budapest, Blade runner 2, Arrival and Dolor y gloria, with several others narrowly missing out. Are we gonna do this with every decade, year-by-year and then the whole decade? Would be cool goimg back to 1930s when the babyboomers joined the planet!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Not sure these would have been my picks, but considering each year I only like a handful, it makes sense. out of these, my five were:

    Arrival (2016)
    Blade Runner 2049 (2017)
    Shame (2011)
    Django Unchained (2012)
    Parasite (2019)

    Almost all Villeneuve and McQueen films were here, so I guess they’re the forum’s favorites!?

    The first images of Chalamet in “Dune” were instant boners for me btw

    Liked by 2 people

    • 😮 You should make them a priority! 🙂 Birdman is pretty unique, I’m not sure if you will love it (I guess it is a bit polarizing, I needed a 2nd viewing to fully appreciate it, but now it’s among my all time favourites), but the acting and the film making overall is at the highest level! You will probably like Parasite (or even love it). I was not a big fan of Pain and Glory as the plot was not very interesting to me, but it is very well directed and acted. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. The results of this should be quite interesting – pitting the ones we liked most against one another.
    I voted for:
    Inception – It may have been Incendies, I am not sure. I love both those films for very different reasons.
    Pride – Such a feel-good film
    Dawn of the Planet of the Apes – I love those apes and would have chosen whichever of their films made it into the list.
    Get Out – Groundbreaking in many ways
    Skyfall – My favourite Bond film from my favourite Bond

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such a strong list, I love most of the movies in it!
    It was hard to leave some of them behind, but here is my top 5:
    Birdman
    Inception
    La La Land
    Arrival
    The Grand Budapest Hotel

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think I went for Get Out, Incendies, Arrival, Three Billboards and La la land. Hard to remember…I did this a few days ago. 🙂
    I haven’t seen Birdman yet either… I think someone put me off because they said it was boring…but I will prioritise it since people here think of it so highly. This is so fun, I’m glad we’re continuing back towards the 30s! I thought of suggesting it as well but I’m glad it’s already been suggested! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • The trailer for Birdman did not look appealing to me and I think that is why I had not seen it, but will make it a priority too. I am glad we will slowly be heading back through the years too!

      Like

  6. Pingback: IFG Poll 87: Favourite Viola Davis Films | Oasis of Fear

  7. Pingback: IFG Poll 88: Favourite Matt Damon Films | Oasis of Fear

  8. Pingback: IFG Poll 89: Favourite Films of 2009 | Oasis of Fear

Leave a comment