Coming Soon: Forgotten Gems

You would imagine that with IMDb and Wikipedia at our fingertips we would be able to find all films that might interest us.  All important films from all countries.  Alas, to a certain extent, we often have to rely on people ‘in the know’.  With a group as international as we are why not recommend some films from your own country that are seldom talked about and just waiting to be discovered?

Those that wish to take part should email me up to five films from their own country that non-natives may be unfamiliar with and I will prepare a page full of gems for others to discover.

Some points to consider:

  1. I’ll not be checking passports 🙂 so if you are more familiar with the film industry of another country, then pick that one.
  2. Ideally the films should be available for all to see with English subtitles (in line with the language of IFG).  That is, via DVD or a streaming service (trying not to support illegal downloads 🙂 ).
  3. When emailing me your list, feel free to add a short personal reflection, or details about the film.

25/05/2020 EDIT:  Please do feel free to include forgotten/hidden gems from any country/various countries, just include the country with your recommendation.

 

28 thoughts on “Coming Soon: Forgotten Gems

  1. Pingback: Welcome to the International Film Group | Oasis of Fear

  2. Pingback: IFG Poll 84: Favourite Emily Blunt Films | Oasis of Fear

  3. Pingback: IFG Poll 86: (Some of) The Best Films of the Decade | Oasis of Fear

  4. Pingback: IFG Poll 85: Favourite Sylvester Stallone Films | Oasis of Fear

      • yes, I think I might be able to come up with a couple of suggestions although it is tricky for Greek films to be both relatively unknown and available on DVD with subtitles….a very tiny cross-section of the Greek films I have seen…especially since some of these I didn’t like much so I wouldn’t recommend…I’ll think about it though. but I guess I am more interesting to see others’ suggestions. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • It may be a bit surprising, but I haven’t seen that many Romanian movies and most of the ones I’ve seen I wasn’t a big fan of 😛 but I will think about a few suggestions and see what I can come up with. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: IFG Poll 86: (Some of) The Best Films of the Decade – 2010s | Oasis of Fear

  6. Pingback: IFG Poll 87: Favourite Viola Davis Films | Oasis of Fear

  7. Pingback: IFG Poll 88: Favourite Matt Damon Films | Oasis of Fear

  8. Pingback: IFG Poll 89: Favourite Films of 2009 | Oasis of Fear

  9. Thanks, Rob!
    I’m not the biggest fan of German cinema. Given the budget of its film industry and amount of talent the outcome every year is just so pathetic. But every now and then – when Jupiter aligns with Pluto – we do get some fantastic films.
    The Polish movies that tend to get the most positive accolades internationally are the ones dealing with “dark topics”, so I’ll try to focus more on the funny side of my other home country’s cinema.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am aware of a few forgotten/hidden gems that I would list for Germany – so I’ll be interested to see if they appear on anyone’s list.

      Looking forward to seeing what you come up with for Poland 🙂 I have not received any yet, so I might have to set a deadline.

      I really don’t mind what country people choose – could be films from multiple countries – I initially thought that people might be most familiar with independent and unknown films from their own country, but I do not think this is the case.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: IFG Poll 90: Favourite Glenn Close Films | Oasis of Fear

  11. Pingback: IFG Poll 91: Favourite Hugh Jackman Films | Oasis of Fear

  12. Pingback: IFG Poll 92: Favourite Films of 2008 | Oasis of Fear

  13. Pingback: IFG 12: Blinded by the Light (Gurinder Chadha, 2019) | Oasis of Fear

  14. Pingback: IFG Poll 93: Favourite Marion Cotillard Films | Oasis of Fear

  15. Pingback: IFG Poll 94: Favourite Willem Dafoe Films | Oasis of Fear

  16. Pingback: IFG Poll 95: Favourite Films of 2007 | Oasis of Fear

Leave a comment