IFG Poll 42: Favourite Rock Hudson Films

 

He was the biggest box office male star in 1957, 1959, 1960, 1961 and 1962, but will you be voting for films from those years?  Please vote for your top FIVE Rock Hudson films.

Poor Rock’s list is not reflective of his talent – many of his older films on Rotten Tomatoes had no votes 😦

 

REMINDERS:

By the end of January 2020: Don’t forget to send me your score for: Coming Soon: IFG7: Everybody Knows (Asghar Farhadi, 2018)

Rate Empire’s top films of the 21st Century: IFG Survey: Score Empire’s Greatest Movies of the Century so far.

Vote for the IFG 10 Film here: Second Chance Poll: Mid-March IFG 10 Special Edition

Have your say on who SHOULD win and who WILL win the Oscars.  Please email me your predictions.  Further details are here: The IFG Oscar Winner Predictions

 

7 thoughts on “IFG Poll 42: Favourite Rock Hudson Films

  1. I have been a bit self indulgent with the polls this week – Rock and Jodie are two of my favourites. I try to do an older movie star (one who was making films in the 50s/60s) and a contemporary movie star each week. I have plenty lined up, but if there is someone you would like to see then do let me know.

    Like

  2. He’s best known for fluffy comedies with Doris Day but as the list shows, he’s successfully appeared in a broad range of films and in the 80s gave the fight against AIDS a human face, his classic Hollywood movie star having been ravaged by the disease. My votes went to two films with Doris, Pillow talk and Lover come back, the Frankenheim thriller Seconds, superb melodrama Magnificent obsession and Come September – because that is one of the rare films where everyone and eveything is beautiful to look at (even if he and Lollobrigida had zero chemistry).

    Liked by 1 person

      • It’s a great melodrama… the only way it could have been better is if Lana Turner had been the female lead ;-).
        Otherwise I agree he has the suave effortlessness of Cary Grant combined with rugged handsomeness. If he hadn’t been gay we would have had to invent him!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I get the feeling a “Favourite Lana Turner Films” poll is necessary! She has been added to the list. I was preparing a list of actors who I would like to cover and I have poll ideas for over a year without any suggestions being included!

        I love the adaptation of Voltaire’s quote. Rock was a god. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment