IFG Poll 12: Favourite Top Action Films (Time Out)

 

 

Time Out has spoken and here are their Top 20 Action films.  Vote for your top FOUR and we will see if we agree with their ranking…

 

REMINDERS:

By the end of September 2019: Don’t forget to send me your list of potential nominees for the November and December IFG Films!  The only criteria is that the films must be listed on IMDb and the films must have had a physical media release with English subtitles (if necessary).

By the end of September 2019: Don’t forget to send me your score for:  IFG 3: The Breakfast Club (John Hughes, 1985)

By the 15th October 2019: Have your say in the IFG Approved Oscars: The 2019 Oscars (IFG Approved)

By the end of November 2019: Send me your list of your favourite 50 films of all time for the Annual Poll: The annual end of year IFG Favourite Films of All Time poll

Note: Although your Top 50 films will not need to be in definitive order, weighted points will be allocated to each film, therefore: Top 1-10 = 5 points, Top 11-20 = 4 points, … Top 41-50 = 1 point.

5 thoughts on “IFG Poll 12: Favourite Top Action Films (Time Out)

  1. OK, this is not really one of my favorite genres and as I look at the list I think that’s probably partly because it’s very vaguely defined – basically it could be almost any genre (scifi, horror, western…). I’m going with Die Hard (probably the purest action movie on the list), two times scifi action (Matrix and T2) and Face/Off. There’s actually quite a few films on this list I haven’t seen or in some cases haven’t even heard of. It also contains one of my absolute hate movies, the 7 Samurai rip-off The wild bunch. This is a film I literally walked out of in my Film Criticism class in college because I thought it was so terrible. I do not like or get Peckinpah at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • These lists are proving just how films fit in to multiple genres. I chose Aliens, Matrix, Terminator and Bourne Ultimatum; although I would class the first three as more Sci-Fi. Perhaps I should have went for more actiony films. Face/Off and Die Hard are great.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I couldn’t get into the Bourne films but I’m generally not a fan of Matt Damon whose popularity has always baffled me.

        Like

      • PS Agree on the classification / overlap stuff; you could also argue the Alien series is more part of the horror genre with the much-maligned 3 (thanks for bringing David Fíncher to the big-time) also an intriguing AIDS – as people labelled it at the time) metaphor along with Interview with the vampire.

        Like

  2. I like this list but I do miss some. Imo some of the best action movies have come up in the last 5 years. I’m a bit surprised that they went for Mad Max 2 instead of Mad Max: Fury Road, I think the latter is one of the best ever and definitely at another level than Mad Max 2. My votes went to Terminator 2, The Matrix, Predator and Aliens.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment